The membership of the National Alliance of Canadian Optician Regulators (NACOR) is made up of ten regulatory agencies across Canada. One delegate from each Canadian Optician Regulatory body that is signatory to the Mutual Recognition Agreement (see Members). NACOR is an incorporated body under the Corporations Canada Act and received final letter of patent in July of 2007. Membership is voluntary.


Directors of NACOR are selected from among the voting delegates appointed by the provincial regulatory agencies. The Executive Committee of NACOR is elected by a simple majority vote of the total voting Members present at the first meeting of the Alliance in the fiscal year.  The Executive Committee of NACOR consists of the Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, the immediate Past Chairperson and a Treasurer.

Decisions of NACOR

It is understood that the Members do not hold meetings but that the business of NACOR shall be conducted at meetings of the Directors.  Any action by the Board of Directors shall be subject to ratification by the individual Members.

Terms of Office

The Chairperson, the Vice Chairperson and the Immediate past Chairperson hold office for one year, until the close of the first meeting of the Membership in the next fiscal year, at which time the newly appointed Vice Chairperson takes office.  The Vice Chairperson becomes the Chairperson, the former Chairperson becomes the Immediate Past Chairperson. 
The term of office for the Treasurer is three years.